Company history2017-04-05T20:57:26+02:00

Just over 10 years ago

The history of JDMT begins in spring 2002. Daniel Nägeli, a medical student from Zurich, wanted to launch a course in infusion techniques with the help from his study friend Andreas Juchli in favor of their fellow students.

There was no such offer in Zurich. Andreas Juchli had the opportunity to train infusion and injection techniques intensiveley during his training as officer of the Swiss Army (cadre course medicine). With the help of a few other people, a first infusion, sewing and injection course could be realized in May 2002.

Study colleagues, who had attended the officers’ school with Andreas Juchli, further officers and employees of the Swiss army trained around 200 medical students during one day. The response was overwhelming. Both the quality and the atmosphere were equally impressive.

This success was followed by a course in emergency medicine – also something lacking so far for many medical students. For this purpose the makers were allowed to use a military facility in Schmidrüti. Thereafter the association littledoc was founded by students, who were responsible for these courses.

A short time later the question arose whether medical students of littledoc could not medically supervise tournament. The interest was aroused. With a lot of enthusiasm the »littledocs” built up the medical care of events from the very beginning, with the aim of giving training opportunities to younger colleagues.

Over the years this service has developed enormously. Many customers throughout Switzerland regularly resorted the services of the »Junior Docs” or the »Junior Doc Medical Team”. In the course of 2006, the question of what the future might look like arose more and more. Littledoc was still just a club. Everyone worked voluntarily. The effort and the expectations of the »littledocs” and their customers were high. How could the services be sustained?

At the beginning of the year, three of the players, Silvan Boxler, Andreas Frischknecht and Andreas Juchli, founded JDMT Medical Services GmbH. «JDMT» comes from the initial letter of «Junior Doc Medical Team». The association litteldoc decided shortly afterwards to sell the medical services to the newly founded company. In 2011, the GmbH was converted into an AG.

Today’s courses are held to this day. For the JDs (the makers of JDMT), the promotion of younger colleagues is and remains an essential pillar of their commitment. Because of conviction and because they like to do it.

Vor etwas mehr als 10 Jahren

Die Geschichte von JDMT beginnt im Frühling 2002. Daniel Nägeli, Medizinstudent aus Zürich, fasste die Idee, gemeinsam mit seinem Studienfreund Andreas Juchli einen Kurs in Infusionstechnik zu Gunsten ihrer Studienkollegen zu organisieren.

Es fehlte in Zürich an einem entsprechenden Angebot. Andreas Juchli hatte die Gelegenheit, während seiner Ausbildung zum Offizier der Schweizer Armee (Kaderkurse Medizin) intensiv Infusions- und Injektionstechnik zu trainieren. Mit Unterstützung einiger weiterer Personen konnte im Mai 2002 dann ein erster Infusions-, Näh- und Injektionskurs realisiert werden.

Studienkollegen, welche mit Andreas Juchli die Offiziersschule besucht hatten, weitere Offiziere und Mitarbeiter der Schweizer Armee bildeten rund 200 Medizinstudierende während eines Tages aus. Das Echo war überwältigend. Qualität und Atmosphäre begeisterten die involvierten Personen gleichermassen.

Es folgte ein Kurs in Notfallmedizin – ebenfalls für viele Medizinstudierende ein grosses Bedürfnis. Hierfür durften die Macher eine militärische Anlage in Schmidrüti verwenden. Seitens Studierenden wurde der Verein littledoc gegründet, der für diese Kurse verantwortlich zeigte.

Kurze Zeit später stellte sich die Frage, ob die Medizinstudierenden von littledoc nicht ein Sportturnier sanitätsdienstlich betreuen könnten. Das Interesse war geweckt. Mit viel Enthusiasmus und von der Pike auf bauten die «littledocs» die sanitätsdienstliche Betreuung von Veranstaltungen auf – von Beginn an mit dem Ziel, dadurch für jüngere Kollegen Ausbildungschancen zu gewähren.

Über die Jahre entwickelte sich diese Dienstleistung enorm. Viele Kunden in der ganzen Schweiz griffen regelmässig auf die Dienste der «Junior Docs», bzw. des «Junior Doc Medical-Teams» zurück. Im Verlauf des Jahres 2006 stellte sich mehr und mehr die Frage, wie die Zukunft aussehen möge. littledoc war weiterhin ein Verein. Alle arbeiteten ehrenamtlich. Der betriebene Aufwand wie auch die Erwartungen der «littledocs» und ihrer Kunden waren gross. Wie konnten die Leistungen nachhaltig organisiert werden?

Mit Jahresbeginn 2007 gründeten drei der Akteure, Silvan Boxler, Andreas Frischknecht und Andreas Juchli, die JDMT Medical Services GmbH. «JDMT» entstammt den Anfangsbuchstaben von «Junior Doc Medical-Team». Der Verein litteldoc entschied kurze Zeit später, die sanitätsdienstlichen Leistungen an die neu gegründete GmbH zu verkaufen. 2011 wurde die GmbH in eine AG umgewandelt.

Förderkurse von damals finden bis heute statt. Für die JDs (die Macher von JDMT) ist und bleibt das Fördern jüngerer Kollegen ein wesentlicher Pfeiler ihres Engagements. Aus Überzeugung und weil sie es gerne tun.