Age-base patient evaluation2018-04-16T17:00:53+00:00

Children are not small adults

The fact that children are not simply small adults affects patient evaluation, even if the basic guidelines when evaluating a patient stays the same. Children can often only vaguely describe their complaints. Therefore, supplemental information obtained from caregivers plays a major role in caring for children. Nevertheless, the child should be taken seriously, and considered its own person. Lastly, children may present with very different symptoms than adults.

Consciousness

Signs of an altered state of consciousness in children include: Refusal to eat, irritability, shrill cries, apathy (possibly alternating with excited states), confusion, drowsiness, decreased bodily tonus, movement abnormalities, loss of consciousness and seizures.

Breathing

Signs of respiratory difficulties/distress include: Nostril flaring (flaring of the nostrils after each breath), inspirations including the chest wall and neck, inverted breathing (the chest falls during inspiration and the belly curves; with opposite actions during expiration), nodding movements during respiration (chin raised during inspiration, chin down during expiration), coughing, hoarseness and breathing sounds such as whistling, grunting, moaning, crackling, gurgling, rattling, and wheezing, cyanosis (bluish coloration) of the lips, toe- and fingernails.

Circulation

Signs of circulatory problems in children include: dizziness, paleness, cyanosis (bluish coloration) of the lips, toe- and fingernails, general malaise, marbling of the skin.

Injury

Signs of an injury include: whimpering, crying, screaming, protective postures.

patientenbeurteilung-kinder

Evaluation de l’état du patient adaptée à l’âge2018-04-16T17:00:54+00:00

Les enfants ne sont pas simplement des « petits adultes »

Comme les enfants ne sont pas simplement de petits adultes, l’évaluation de l’état du patient enfant a ses propres principes de base, comme chez les adultes. Les petits enfants ne peuvent souvent pas exprimer leurs problèmes de manière précise. Les personnes assurant la garde de l’enfant ont alors un rôle important. Malgré cela, l’enfant doit être considéré comme une personne indépendante. Les symptômes des enfants sont considérablement différents de ceux des adultes.

Conscience

Les signes pour un trouble de la conscience chez un enfant peuvent être les suivants: refus de manger, irritabilité, cris stridents, apathie (éventuellement avec des phases d’excitabilité), confusion, somnolence, diminution du tonus musculaire, troubles de la motricité, perte de conscience et convulsions.

Respiration

Les signes pour un problème respiratoire / une détresse respiratoire chez un enfant peuvent être les suivants: ailes nasales (mouvements des narines à chaque inspiration), mouvements du thorax et du cou à l’inspiration, respiration paradoxale (à l’inspiration, le thorax se baisse et le ventre se gonfle et inversement à l’expiration), mouvements d’acquiescement pendant la respiration (menton s’élève à l’inspiration, se baisse à l’expiration), toux, voix rauque, bruits respiratoires (sifflements, grognements, gémissements, gargarismes, râles, crépitements, halètements), couleur bleutée des lèvres et des bouts des doigts/orteils.

Circulation

Les signes pour un problème circulatoire chez un enfant peuvent être les suivants: vertiges, pâleur, couleur bleutée des lèvres et du bout des doigts/orteils, malaise, aspect de la peau marbré.

Lésions

Les signes pour une lésion chez un enfant peuvent être les suivants: gémissements, pleurs, cris, position antalgique.

patientenbeurteilung-kinder