Age-base patient evaluation2018-04-16T17:00:53+00:00

Children are not small adults

The fact that children are not simply small adults affects patient evaluation, even if the basic guidelines when evaluating a patient stays the same. Children can often only vaguely describe their complaints. Therefore, supplemental information obtained from caregivers plays a major role in caring for children. Nevertheless, the child should be taken seriously, and considered its own person. Lastly, children may present with very different symptoms than adults.

Consciousness

Signs of an altered state of consciousness in children include: Refusal to eat, irritability, shrill cries, apathy (possibly alternating with excited states), confusion, drowsiness, decreased bodily tonus, movement abnormalities, loss of consciousness and seizures.

Breathing

Signs of respiratory difficulties/distress include: Nostril flaring (flaring of the nostrils after each breath), inspirations including the chest wall and neck, inverted breathing (the chest falls during inspiration and the belly curves; with opposite actions during expiration), nodding movements during respiration (chin raised during inspiration, chin down during expiration), coughing, hoarseness and breathing sounds such as whistling, grunting, moaning, crackling, gurgling, rattling, and wheezing, cyanosis (bluish coloration) of the lips, toe- and fingernails.

Circulation

Signs of circulatory problems in children include: dizziness, paleness, cyanosis (bluish coloration) of the lips, toe- and fingernails, general malaise, marbling of the skin.

Injury

Signs of an injury include: whimpering, crying, screaming, protective postures.

patientenbeurteilung-kinder

Altersgerechte Patientenbeurteilung 2018-04-16T17:00:54+00:00

Kinder sind keine kleine Erwachsene

Dass Kinder keine kleinen Erwachsenen sind, wirkt sich auch auf die Patientenbeurteilung aus, auch wenn diese denselben Grundprinzipien wie beim Erwachsenen folgt. Kleine Kinder können ihre Beschwerden häufig nur unpräzise äussern. Angaben von Betreuungspersonen haben dadurch eine grosse Bedeutung. Trotzdem soll das Kind als eigenständige Persönlichkeit ernst genommen werden. Symptome von Kindern können sich wesentlich von denjenigen von Erwachsenen unterscheiden.

Bewusstsein

Zeichen einer Bewusstseinsstörung beim Kind können sein: Nahrungsverweigerung, Reizbarkeit, schrilles Schreien, Teilnahmslosigkeit (evtl. im Wechsel mit Erregungszuständen), Verwirrung, Schläfrigkeit, verminderte Körperspannung, Bewegungsstörungen, Bewusstlosigkeit und Krampfanfälle.

Atmung

Zeichen von Atembeschwerden/Atemnot beim Kind können sein: Nasenflügeln (Weiten der Nasenflügel bei jedem Einatmen), Einziehungen an Brustwand und Hals beim Einatmen, Schaukelatmung (Brust fällt beim Einatmen ein und Bauch wölbt sich vor; umgekehrt beim Ausatmen), Nickbewegungen beim Atmen (Kinn hoch beim Ein-, Kinn runter beim Ausatmen), Husten, Heiserkeit und Atemgeräusche wie Pfeifen, Grunzen, Stöhnen, Knistern, Gurgeln, Rasseln, Keuchen, Blaufärbung von Lippen und Finger-/Zehenspitzen.

Kreislauf

Zeichen von Kreislaufproblemen beim Kind können sein: Schwindel, Blässe, Blaufärbung der Lippen und Finger-/Zehenspitzen, Unwohlsein, Marmorierung der Haut.

Verletzung

Zeichen einer Verletzung bei Kindern können sein: Wimmern, Weinen, Schreien, Schonhaltung.

patientenbeurteilung-kinder