Fundamental Principals2018-04-16T17:00:54+00:00

Physical particularities in children

Consciousness

As children’s brains are still developing brains, fever-inducing infections will commonly lead to convulsions (febrile convulsions).

Breathing

Infants have a relatively large head and a short neck. Since their voice box is higher up than in adults, children breathe primarily through their nose, meaning the common cold more significantly inhibits breathing than in adults. For the same reasons, in order to establish effective breathing, the head should not be overextended towards the back of the neck as in adults, but must be placed in the “sniffing position”.

Oxygen requirements and therefore the normal breathing rate is 2-3 times higher in newborns, infants, and school-age children than in adults. However, their airways are much narrower. Furthermore, the mucosal surface lining their airways often overreacts by excessively swelling and producing copious amounts of mucus. Therefore, airway swelling in response to allergies, asthma, infections, irritants and foreign bodies, quickly leads to breathing difficulties. The “sniffing position” is also indicated for effective respiration in infants.

Children’s immune systems are still maturing. Therefore, common, “normal” infections can quickly lead to significant respiratory problems.

Circulatory System

Circulatory arrest in children is most often second to a respiratory problem (airway obstruction, drowning), while circulatory arrest in adults is most often second to cardiac issues (especially myocardial infarction). Therefore, artificial respiration during re-animation is much more important in children than in adults. Children have a significantly smaller blood volume than adults. Therefore, a relatively small loss of blood may lead to serious consequences for children.

The risk of internal abdominal bleeding is also more significant in children, as their internal abdominal organs are less well protected.

Skeletal System

Children have a very flexible bones. Therefore, thoracic organs can be more easily injured as the flexibility of the ribs and chest wall enables strong compression forces to enact large amounts of pressure on these organs (heart, lungs, major arteries), even without external signs of injury.

An infant’s head is relatively large in comparison to their body size. Together with a less well-developed musculoskeletal system, children are thus more at risk for cervical spinal injuries.

As a result of children’s limited ability to support and protect their head, high forces can more easily lead to brain trauma and injury (ex : whiplash, shaken baby syndrome).

Body Temperature Regulation

Compared to their body volume, children have a large body surface area. Therefore, children more quickly lose large amounts of heat, especially at their head. Furthermore, infants are especially poor at producing heat through active body movements and trembling. Children also sweat less than adults. This leaves children especially vulnerable to the cold (Hypothermia) and the heat (Heat stroke).

REMEMBER

  • Consider the child as its own person, with its own personality!
  • Children are especially vulnerable to airway problems!
  • Circulatory arrest in children is most often caused by airway problems. Therefore, artificial respiration during re-animation of a child is crucial!
  • In order to establish effective breathing in children, the head should not be extended into the back of the neck as with adults, but the head must be placed in the «sniffing position»!
  • Blood volume loss in children quickly lead to significant consequences, and the situation can escalate rapidly!
  • Smaller children are especially at risk for head and cervical spine injuries!
  • Never shake an infant or small child!
  • Children must be especially protected from the climate and weather!

Wichtige Grundlagen 2016-06-08T14:06:32+00:00

Körperliche Besonderheiten bei Kindern

Bewusstsein

Aufgrund der Unreife des Gehirns reagieren Kinder bis ins Kleinkindalter auf fiebrige Infekte nicht selten mit Krampfanfällen (sog. Fieberkrämpfe).

Atmung

Säuglinge haben einen relativ grossen Kopf und kurzen Hals. Da der Kehlkopf höher liegt als beim Erwachsenen, atmen sie primär durch die Nase, weshalb schon ein Schnupfen die Atmung relevant behindern kann. Aus denselben Gründen darf für eine effektive Beatmung der Kopf nicht wie beim Erwachsenen in den Nacken überstreckt werden, sondern es soll die sog. «Schnüffelposition» angestrebt werden.

Bei Säuglingen, Klein- und Schulkindern liegt der Sauerstoffverbrauch und somit auch die normale Atemfrequenz 2- bis 3-mal höher als beim Erwachsenen. Demgegenüber sind die Lichtungen ihrer Atemwege viel enger als bei Erwachsenen und die Schleimhäute reagieren häufig mit übermässiger Schwellung und Schleimproduktion. Daher führt ein Anschwellen der Atemwege (z.B. infolge Allergie, Asthma, Infekt, Schadstoffe, Fremdkörper) rasch zu Atemproblemen. Auch bei Kleinkindern ist die «Schnüffelposition» zur effektiven Beatmung anzustreben.

Bei Säuglingen und Kleinkindern ist die Reifung des Immunsystems noch nicht abgeschlossen. Daher sind gehäufte Infekte grundsätzlich «normal», können sich aus obigen Gründen aber auch rasch zu relevanten Atemproblemen entwickeln.

Kreislauf

Bei Kindern ist ein Herz-Kreislauf-Stillstand meist durch ein Atmungs- problem (z.B. Atemwegsverlegung, Ertrinken) bedingt, während bei Erwachsenen ein Herz-Kreislauf-Stillstand am häufigsten herzbedingt (vor allem durch einen Herzinfarkt) auftritt. Dadurch kommt der Beat- mung ein wesentlich höherer Stellenwert als beim Erwachsenen zu. Kinder haben im Vergleich zu Erwachsenen ein kleines Blutvolumen. Dadurch kann bereits ein relativ kleiner Blutverlust schnell und oft ganz plötzlich gravierende Auswirkungen haben.

Bei Kleinkindern sind die Bauchorgane schlechter geschützt, weshalb die Gefahr einer inneren Blutung in die Bauchhöhle grösser ist.

Skelett

Kinder haben ein sehr elastisches Skelett. Durch die Elastizität des Brust-/Rippenskeletts können auch ohne äussere Verletzungszeichen starke Kompressionskräfte auf die Brustorgane (Herz, Lunge, Haupt- schlagader) gewirkt und diese verletzt haben.

Kleinkinder haben relativ zum Körper einen grossen Kopf. Zusammen mit dem noch schwachen Muskel-, Band- und Knochenapparat der Halswirbelsäule sind sie besonders gefährdet, Halswirbelsäulenverlet- zungen zu erleiden.

Infolge dieser eingeschränkten Kopfkontrolle können schneller als beim Erwachsenen starke Scherkräfte auf das Gehirn wirken und dieses ernsthaft schädigen (z.B. beim Schütteltrauma).

Körpertemperaturregulation

Kinder haben im Vergleich zu ihrem Körpervolumen eine sehr grosse Körperoberfläche, wodurch sie rasch viel Wärme – speziell über den grossen Kopf – verlieren. Zudem sind insbesondere Säuglinge noch nicht in der Lage, durch aktive Körperbewegung und Kältezittern Wärme zu erzeugen und sie schwitzen nur wenig. Das macht Kinder besonders anfällig auf Kälte (Unterkühlung) und Wärme (Hitzschlag).

MERKE

  • Das Kind als eigenständige Persönlichkeit wahrnehmen!
  • Kinder sind besonders anfällig für Atemwegsprobleme!
  • Ein kindlicher Herz-Kreislauf-Stillstand ist meist atmungsvermittelt. Deshalb hat die Beatmung bei der Wiederbelebung eines Kindes grössere Bedeutung als beim Erwachsenen!
  • Für eine effektive Beatmung von kleinen Kindern soll der Kopf nicht in den Nacken überstreckt, sondern in die sog. «Schnüffelposition» gebracht werden!
  • Relevante Blutungen wirken sich bei Kindern schneller und ganz plötzlich aus!
  • Kleine Kinder sind besonders gefährdet für Schädel-Hirn- und Halswirbelsäulenverletzungen!
  • Niemals ein Baby oder Kleinkind schütteln!
  • Kinder besonders gut vor Witterungseinflüssen schützen!